Silver is still out there

skierbob

Jun 7, 2006
Southeastern PA
Detector(s) used
Minelab e-trac; Minelab Exp II; Troy Shadow X3; Garrett AT Pro.

Attachments

• today.jpg
    today.jpg
    41 KB · Views: 259
Upvote 0

DelcoGreg

Tenderfoot
Aug 30, 2006
That is good to hear because I have been starting to wonder. I used to go metal detecting with my Dad 25+ years ago and we always seemed to find enough silver to keep things interesting. It wasn't so much whether we would find silver, but more of a question of how much we would find and how old it would be. That was with a middle of the road (at best) White's Coinmaster detector.

Recently I had the opportunity to buy a XLT, so for nostalgia's sake I went ahead and bought it. I figured that with the XLT I could hit some of our best spots and clean up. So much for that plan. I am still learning the nuances of the XLT, but so far the old spots haven't been productive at all. One was the former site of a very large mansion where I once found a nice large cent (maybe half cent). I didn't learn much there this time around because everything I dug was a pull tab, bottle cap, or a can (as in a whole can). I kept trying to figure out how to find the signal in the noise, but I am not sure there was any signal there to find. I didn't find one thing that didn't go in the trash. An old school yard was a little better. We used to find a lot of old silver there - mercury dimes and even barber quarters. As it turns out, they have since paved most of the areas adjacent to the school for parking lots. They were the prime areas because I think that was where the kids used to play years ago. I at least found some coins there and made some progress learning the XLT, but none of the coins had any age.

Anyway, I was thinking maybe the time for making those kind of finds has long since past, but your results suggest that is not so. I guess I will have to keep looking for spots and put in some more time before I decide to hang it up.