Bronze Member
Dec 14, 2007
Cincinnati, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Radio Shack
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Since I'm new to American Indian Artifact collecting

I would have to vote for Mother Natures handy-work on those, although the one with the holes :icon_scratch:

mistergee

Silver Member
Jan 8, 2008
Pennsylvania

im no expert but aside from the one with the holes....there are some with signs of being worked

i think yo may have a celt and maybe some scrapers there.. molly will know for sure. try to post picks of side views that may show the edges. especially #1 on top and #1 and #3 on bottom

Looks like a mix of geofacts and artifacts to me. The one with holes is what we commonly call a "nutting stone". The holes in yours do appear smaller than what I'm used too, but its also been said that such were used to help stabilize bow drills, and sometimes as anvilles in the bi polar flaking technique.
One of em does look like a celt, but from the pic, its hard to tell if there is a blade on the end or not. Could also be a hammer or grindstone?
:thumbsup:

OP
OP
vibes

vibes

Bronze Member
Aug 20, 2007
Northern Indiana
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1280x Aquanaut

I have the other pics at home showing side views, etc...

Except for this pic as I originally posted the photos in "Today's Finds"

Thanks for the comments!

Attachments

• index.jpg
    index.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 300
  • index.jpg
    index.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 295
  • index.jpg
    index.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 295
  • index.jpg
    index.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 298
A

arrow719

The celt is for sure, I think I see an axe too. Welcome to the world of indian artifacts, it can be very addicting! :wave:

OP
OP
vibes

vibes

Bronze Member
Aug 20, 2007
Northern Indiana
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1280x Aquanaut

arrow719, johnnyreb, mistergee and creekhunter...Thanks for the input. I'll try to add a couple of pics /different angles.