apush

Bronze Member
Dec 21, 2009
U.S.A.
Detector(s) used
ACE 250; Lone Star
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a cousin whose father left her (well, according to her), lots of silver and gold coins. She says she has a large safe deposit box full including some Confederate bills. My cousin is in her 60s and her father left his stash to her about 25 years ago. The contents have been in her safe deposit box ever since. I am not sure if it is junk silver, graded coins--no idea. She wants me to look at the coins and give her an idea of what they are worth. Knowing I am no coin expert, but collect, she contacted me. If indeed the lot is mostly junk silver, what would be a fair price to offer? If she has some prizes in the mix, we will head to a reputable dealer.
Thank you for any advice,
Apush

Rustynailsandscrews

Sep 26, 2014
Salem, NY
Detector(s) used
AT PRO and a BH 505 that I let friends and relatives I don't like use.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If your really going to be fair the coins need to be graded.
So let's be honest, you want to screw your cousin and make a killing !!!!!
That's alright because we all need to make a profit!
Well how much of the safe deposit is full ?
Throw the Confederate bills out the window because most are counterfeit.
Give her 2 times the face value on everything in the box and rip her off but be prepared for bad Karma and the judgement you will face when you meet your maker.
Maybe you should help her out instead and look at what she has and I'm sure you will get some coins for your collection.
Just my moral thoughts.

jim4silver

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2008
If your really going to be fair the coins need to be graded.
So let's be honest, you want to screw your cousin and make a killing !!!!!
That's alright because we all need to make a profit!
Well how much of the safe deposit is full ?
Throw the Confederate bills out the window because most are counterfeit.