jernigan00

Sep 14, 2005
Oswego, New York
Detector(s) used
DFX, Excalibur ll, Ace 250
Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found this about 8". My brother and I hit several older vacant homes and foundations in an old RR town in SE AZ. I am still learning up on its history, ie manufacter, date, value.

I hope the fact that it has been hacksawed doesn't kill the value too much. I would love to know the history on why it was cut or by whom, perhaps what this lock may have been guarding from thieves and why it wound up where it did in the front yard of a house foundation.

On the bar of the lock I stripped some of the paint away so I could make out some of the writting. All I could get was something like "......fraim Lock CO" then "Lancaster, PA USA".

Anybody with any ideas?

HH.

Attachments

• SP Lock 1.JPG
    SP Lock 1.JPG
    102 KB · Views: 599
Upvote 0

ModernMiner

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2007
North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Manticore , Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Congrats on a great find. Those old RR locks are so cool looking.
Way to go.
-MM-

PBK

Gold Member
May 25, 2005
The maker is the E. T. Fraim Lock Co. Arnall's The Padlock Collector lists this lock at $60 in good condition; Knous's Railroadiana, $80-90.

aa battery

Gold Member
Oct 11, 2006
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a couple SP locks but not as nice as yours.I was told some of the SP employees still have keys for those locks because they are still in use today....aa

OP
OP
jernigan00

jernigan00

Sep 14, 2005
Oswego, New York
Detector(s) used
Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the info PBK.