Sovereign gt...good all around detector?

rossman85

May 14, 2012
harrisburg, pa
Detector(s) used
garrett at pro, pro pointer, lesche digger
I am new to the hobby, but I was wondering if the sovereign gt is a good all purpose detector? I read many good reviews on it, but how does it do and how deep does it go generally? I have a tesoro now which i love, but i already see that i a, going to want a good multifrequency machine eventually. I wont be upgrading anytime soon, i just want to know which detector to shoot for. I really appreciate any input or advice.

Hosensack

Apr 20, 2007
Mertztown, Pa
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac, Safari,X-Terra 705, Tesoro Tejon, Whites DFX, Garrett AT Pro, GTI 2500, 250, Fisher Gold Bug DP,F75 Limited
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The simple answer is yes. The question would be, what kind of Tesoro do you have and what type of hunting do you do? The Tejon for example would be on par with the GT for Relics, but is not an all arounder, the Vaquero is a great coin/relic machine, but doesn't hold a candle to it on the beach. The multi-frequency and tones give you some very good discrimination advantages as well.

OP
OP
R

rossman85

May 14, 2012
harrisburg, pa
Detector(s) used
I have an eldorado umax which is great for now....it hits coins hard, but i like the iron masking feature of the gt

OP
OP
R

rossman85

May 14, 2012
harrisburg, pa
Detector(s) used
I was looking at a tejon.... I do mostly coin and want to find relics as well, but when looking at the features of a gt, it seems like i wouldnt need another detector unless i was doing hardcore water hunting

Bart@Big Boys Hobbies

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Jul 24, 2005
Moore Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Call for your Treasurenet special discount! Be sure to mention Tnet when you call!
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting