Stone detecting

manumuskin

Tenderfoot
Oct 12, 2011
Primary Interest:
Other
Hi
My name is Al and I'm new here and I come with a question.
Me and a friend of mine have a highly unusual hobby.We search out old survey stones used to mark property.Some of these stones are in excess of 200 years old and all are at least 100.I have some experience with cheap metal detectors so I thought you guys might be able to help.You see to find the stones we use old maps and surveys and then plot the stones using computer programs,guesswork and some good map/topography savvy.Then we hit the field with handheld gps units after plotting an exact location or a declination arc but when we get there if the stone is above ground it is usually found quickly but if it is underground due to humus accumulation or purposely buried by the surveyor as some are we are stuck.Are units commonly only get down to about 16 to 24 ft accuracy.Thats a 32 to 48 ft diameter circle and if there are no surveyor clues as paint,blazes,nails in trees,ditches,etc then we have to stab the ground with pokers and hope we hit the stone and a 48 ft diameter circle is a lot of ground to cover in thick brush with a poker.My question to you folks is this.Would it be possible to either build a detector or modify a metal detector to detect stone an concrete and not confuse it with wood?If it confuses it with metal this is no big deal because most places we hunt are in the woods and there is very little metal outside of an occasional bottle cap or shotgun shell.Stone and concrete would be less dense then metal so I assume it would need a detector more sensitive then the normal metal detector.I live in southern NJ and our soil is mostly sands of quartz very fine and hardly any natural rock to speak of except on tops of the higher hills there is some native sandstone and this is what most survey stones we find are made of.It is very coarse and fragile compared to most sandstone and the coarse stuff can frequently be broken b