Success equal metal detector or the operator?

motodude

Greenie
Apr 16, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is probably more of a question posed to hear what kinds of interesting thoughts people have on the subject more than anything.

Who do you think would be more successful finding the good stuff at a specific site (same site, same day):

1) Someone with a high-end metal detector but not a lot of experience.
2) Someone with a low-end metal detector and a great deal of experience.

And why?

Upvote 0

bill from lachine

Gold Member
Oct 30, 2011
Quebec
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
motodude,

#2 hands down....no contest....checkmate.....oops I almost forgot the justification....lol.

OK here goes I've been detecting for about 20 years....using entry, mid and high end machines......to my taste I prefer a turn on and go machine....easy learning curve, minimal bells and whistles.....we all do this for a hobby so the first point of the exercise is to enjoy yourself.

If you have to spend half the hunt....tweaking controls and playing with all the options....it's more like work instead of play......lots of time spent with an entry or mid range machine and understanding what it's telling you will get you the keepers.

I'm sure you get different opinions from others.....it's just what works for me.

Regards + HH

Bill

spartacus53

Banned
Jul 5, 2009
Whiting, NJ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'll have to agree with Bill for once, like me, it almost sounds that he knows what he's talking about :tongue3:

Yes, it's experience and understanding of your machine that is the key factor in the long run. Keep this in mind, whether you're a so called expert, or a beginner, or whatever machine you're using, you will get skunked. There isn't a person, or machine that is 100% correct. Just have fun :occasion14:

hikerdude

Jan 31, 2013
Palmdale, California
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter 2200 Elite