TORRERO

30+ YEARS, XP DEUS I & II ARE MY GO TO MACHINES
Nov 17, 2004
NC
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS I & II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I bought a Sand Shark about 6 months ago and I was under the empression that this was going to be the "Beat all end all" machine for the beach...

I like it and have walked and walked with it... (well balanced, light weight)

I have been hunting for more than 30 years and can find my way around metel detectors no
problem, but there are some things with this that don't seem right and I want the opinion
of other "Sand Shark" users on this forum.

For one thing I was under the empression that these Pulse Induction machines went really deep.

I am using an 8 inch coil and after many different settings I settled on "Vol. all the way up, with the Threshold to where I could not hear it", so when I walk over something the threshould go's up and I can hear deeper targets.

But I have not seen much in the way of deep targets and most all coins have come in the
6 -8 inch range. Dimes on an air test are not much more than 6 inches, quarters are a bit better, but although I dug a fair amount of coins, non of them seemed very deep all all.
Almost all could be gotten with my hand. That said, I have dug a few nails pretty deep, and beer bottle caps can be dug rather deep, but these are bigger than coins...

Another problem I seem to be having is "Radio or electronic interferance"

Sometimes the threshold is silent as I walk the beach, but much more often than not
I can hear a constant "thrumming" sound in the back ground, sometimes real weak and sometimes real strong and there does not seem to be any rationality or consistancy to this noise, as I can hear it low on the beach (low wet sand area) and high on the beach (Dry sand area) I can walk out of it, one minute and the next
walk back in.... you can't tune the machine to block it, there is no sensativity switch.