Tesoro Silver Umax....As Good As Everyone Says?

DirtDiggerDaveinMD

Jan 31, 2005
Hello everyone,

I have been using an XLT and a QXT for a few years now but have always considered picking up a Silver Umax. I have not read anything bad about the Silver on the forums or on the review boards and it seems that the silver is one of Tesoro's best kept secrets. What is it about the Silver that seems to draw people in and make them a Tesoro believer? What would you consider to be the Silver's strengths, and what would you consider to be it's weaknesses? I really love my XLT, but something keeps telling me that I should give the Silver a try.

discovery_bound

Feb 4, 2008
South Dakota, B&R in Montana
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver Umax
I may not be the best guy to give a review since I've only been 'seriously' detecting for just under 2 years....but I started with a Silver and still use and love it. I hunt in North Dakota, Montana, and some parts of Minnesota and so far have hunted ghost towns, abandoned farmsteads, swimming hole beaches, and the occasional recreational fields (softball,, football, etc.)

What I like about it:
Super lightweight. I can swing this unit all day/all weekend and my arm does not feel tired at all.
One battery (9V) I consider this a plus on cost.
Quick and easy learning curve, turn on, set your settings you want, and go for it.
I feel it detects deep, (my deepest has been a nail at app. 11") but again I have not owned a different detector so I really have nothing to compare it to.
Lifetime warranty, just can't beat it.

I really don't have any con's to mention except what I've heard/read.
Only one tone. Some people prefer multiple tones for different signals. Also some people prefer an ID target screen, some don't.
No manual ground balance.

That is my take on the Silver, not sure if it helped at all, but this is my opinionated rookie review.