Thinking About Buying the AT Max

markmcknight

Tenderfoot
Jan 20, 2020
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm totally new to metal detecting. Been doing a lot of research lately and it is def something I want to get into. Was originally looking at the Garrett AT Pro, but after doing some research I discovered the AT Max. It seems to be a lot better than the Pro just by looking at this comparison chart.

(Deleted by mod for rule infraction)

I'm not going to be doing any Gold type prospecting so don't need any Gold specific detectors. I don't want to go with a total beginner model, because I want something that can grow along with me as I get better at using it. That's why I choose the Garrett AT Max.

Although when I check out the reviews of the AT Max, nobody seems to be recommending it.

https://www.smarterhobby.com/metal-detecting/best-metal-detector/
https://hobbyhelp.com/metal-detecting/best-metal-detector/

Has anyone here used a AT Max and is it much better than a Pro?
Also is there a similar model I should be looking for from a different brand that might be better that I don't know about yet?. ie. Whites, Fisher or Minelabs?

Regards,
Mark

Last edited by a moderator:
Upvote 0

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Check out the Minab equinox 600 or 800, they are multi freq detectors, both pro and max is single freq detectors.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to TreasureNet, sorry, I deleted your detector link, we do not allow links to non supporting vendors.