Thinking about picking up a new detector

NYmetaldetector

Greenie
Feb 8, 2010
Putnam county, NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
I currently have a Ace 250 and I was looking around on craigslist and there is a Garrett GTAX 550 and a White's XLT for sale in my area. They are both asking $375. The Garrett says it has only been used once and it looks that way(from picture). Its in the box and all material is with it. The White's says in good working condition and from the pictures looks like it has been used. It also says the rechargeable battery wont hold a charge.

I am leaning toward the White's as seems like its a better detector but I would like people opinions on both machines. For the little research I did the Garrett looks like a glorified Ace 250 with more depth and the White's has VDI#(not 100% sure what that actually is)

I am new to the hobby and I have had the Ace 250 for 2 years but only used it a couple of times. Does anyone think I would have any problems using either of these machines and your opinion on which is better.

If they sell a rechargeable battery for the White's, does anyone have a price range?

Thanks

Dwight S

Apr 26, 2010
NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT-Pro & White's TDI & Tesoro Compass uMax
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I don't know anything about that particular Garrett machine, I have a Garretts AT-Pro and a White's XLT.

The XLT is a good medium to high end machine. When new it cost around $800 MSRP.
Most of the time a used one will cost $400+, depending on condition.
The rechargable battery pack can be bought from White's for $50, the charger is around $25.
There is also a 8AA battery holder that came with it, if its missing or you want another, its $10.
You may could take the rechargable battery pack to Batteries Plus for new rechargables and it may be less, probably not though...

A lot of people have athe XLT and swear by them. There is a learning curve to all the controls.