Tips on finding new places to detect...

AugustMoose87

Sep 10, 2014
Longmont, CO
Detector(s) used
Gold Pan, Sluice, Hand Dredge, X-Terra 30, X-Terra 705, Sand Shark
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I am new to detecting... so new in fact, i don't have a detector yet... I have 3 sites in mind that I am hoping to detect at some point, but all three are ones I came across while working and will require special permission from my employers to detect there (still working on that and a detector, LOL). I'm wondering how that process is normally gone about - Mine was get sent out to cut down invasive trees, find evidence on the property I was on, and then research with old topos online. I'm pretty sure that isn't how the "regulars" do it...

Also, if anyone has any do's and/or don'ts for asking permission, chime in!

Upvote 0

gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Gateway to the 1000 Islands
Detector(s) used
Sometime(s)
Primary Interest:
Other
First off, let's talk permission. Just do it dont be skeered. Cheerfully ask "May I metal detect your property for old coins? I offer thirty percent of my finds". A yes or no will be had.