Tips please

mdNashland

Tenderfoot
Apr 26, 2011
Hi! I'm new to Mding... I'm from Ky and have a Whites Prism III that I'm really not sure what to do with LOL!
I only got to use it last summer for a few times and found a couple of coins that were around the 70's and up, and a pitted rock that made my detector go off. Should I just dig everything and leave off the sensitivity and discrimination at first? And I also read somewhere that if you get a signal and raise it above the ground a few inches that will tell you weather it's worth digging for or not... how does that work? I'd appreciate any help :) THANKS!!

Upvote 0

leatherneck

Apr 20, 2009
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug DP
Leave the disc. off for a couple of hours and dig everything. This will get you used to some of the different sounds you will get on iron, steel, lead etc. The coil should be almost touching the ground. The higher it is from the ground the less penetration into the ground you will get. Say if the detector and coil you are using can "see" 6" into the ground and you lift the coil up 4" into the air, then your coil will only see 2" into the ground. So scrape the ground or real close to it to get your max. depth. Also your swing should be slow to moderate in speed and the coil should be the exact same distance from the ground from the far left to center to far right of you swing. Don't let your coil go up in the air at the ends of your swing. When you get used to some of the sounds then turn your discrimination on until you notice you are rejecting iron. Don't go too high on disc. because you could disc. out nickles and gold rings. Go to the website of the manufacturer for your detector and download a copy of the manual for you detector, read,read and reread it until you understand it. Hope this helps.

OP
OP
M

mdNashland

Tenderfoot
Apr 26, 2011
leatherneck said: