Todays find werent much, still learning...

KyDigNQueen

May 30, 2016
KY
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pro pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Today's find weren't much, still learning...

So I went out today for a few hours near an old home site. Found random stuff. Mainly I am just learning the settings on my new AT Pro and what the different tones sound like, how to discriminate iron, etc. I didn't know what the red heart was but found an old thread on here that explained it. I also thought the rat poison bottle was an interesting find. I found one Ball lid with intact porcelain seal that I managed not to break with my shovel. A Bac-a-Belt buckle from the 50's, an old Remington Nitro shotgun shell, 8 pull tabs, part of an aluminum percolator, and what I think is a handle that is copper. I didn't find any coins, unfortunately, but it was a good, hard 6 hour day and I learned a lot. Hoping to go to an old park tomorrow with my husband. Maybe I can at least find some clad, or something better!
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    471.3 KB · Views: 122
Last edited:
Upvote 12

tomhighland

Bronze Member
Sep 26, 2015
In MI woods
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Looks like you had a fun day. Keep digging the pull tabs, that is where the gold hides! If you get a chance, check out Grommy lommy, on you tube he has a video showing the vdi readings for gold that he has found with the atpro. It is amazing the range that gold covers. That guy is the ring findingest dirt digger you will ever see. Good luck!

OP
OP
KyDigNQueen

KyDigNQueen

May 30, 2016
KY
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Thanks for the information! I will check out those YouTube vids you recommended, as well. I appreciate any advice anyone has to offer.

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting