Token experts! I need an ID! Pics inside :)

DFW_THer

Bronze Member
Feb 20, 2008
Coinslaughtersville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett Carrot Glued To A Stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Found this token in Arlington, TX under a tree at about 5 inches.
Any insights? As far as I can read it says "Miami Tex" "Office (s)(a)loon" "Good for Drink".
The back is blank.
Thanks for any help!
GL & HH
~Brad

officesaloon.jpg

tokensmith

Aug 8, 2007
Insights?? I don't know about that, but after I stopped drooling over your token I checked Texas trade tokens and the two supplements published by TAMS and found nothing listed for Miami, Texas in any of them. There is no mention of Miami, TX tokens on Durocher or Greever's websites for Texas either.

I'm no expert on Texas saloon tokens by any means, but you have a spectacular find there. I'd guess the value at $500 and up. Do not clean it any further.

OP
OP
DFW_THer

DFW_THer

Bronze Member
Feb 20, 2008
Coinslaughtersville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
tokensmith said:
Insights?? I don't know about that, but after I stopped drooling over your token I checked Texas trade tokens and the two supplements published by TAMS and found nothing listed for Miami, Texas in any of them. There is no mention of Miami, TX tokens on Durocher or Greever's websites for Texas either.

I'm no expert on Texas saloon tokens by any means, but you have a spectacular find there. I'd guess the value at $500 and up. Do not clean it any further.

I thank you very much for trying to find some info. I guess it can be a good thing when you can't find any info! :)
And it does show that I was a little rough with it. I couldn't read anything on it at first! It's going in a holder and not coming out!
Looks like I'm going back to that site tonight... ;)

~Brad

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used