Trying out new at pro for the first time and first coin dug for 2017 is silver!

gold panner

May 22, 2016
vermont
Detector(s) used
fisher gold bug
at pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
We are still frozen in for the most part up north. But I have been dying to try out and learn my new at pro that I got a month ago so found a south facing slope without much frozen ground next to a ball field. Within five minutes I had a perfect dime hit at six inches. Since I am new with this detector I checked it with my gold bug which I know well and continued to use both detectors on each target afterwords just to keep learning. Anyways I got the plug opened up and out pops a 1900 Barber My oldest dime to date. This was a spot that I have not researched at all so I was really surprised to say the least. needless to say my half hour hunt turned into three hours. Final tally the barber a 1944 wheat, round ball, and some modern coins. This is a spot I can not wait to get back to when the ground thaws out more ( did have a bunch of coin hits that I could not dig due to frozen ground).
IMG_0028.JPG IMG_0030.JPG

Upvote 16

devldog

Silver Member
Mar 9, 2012
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT ALL PRO, Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Gold Panner, Congrat's to you on the new AT PRO. You are off to a great start already. Well done on the silver. May this be the first of many great finds found with the PRO.

cjon455

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2012
Northeast PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Garrett Propointer
Garrett Propointer-AT
Sampson T handle shovel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well that's one way to break in a machine!

Stretch Da Truth

Bronze Member
Jan 13, 2017
Detector(s) used
XP Déus & a Carrot!
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Nice finds GP! Anytime you find anything with your new machine, first time out is Awesome!
Congrats and remember those frozen targets.... they are waiting for you! :occasion14:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member