Upgrade from Tracker IV?

Jay In NewKen

Jun 24, 2012
New Kensington, Pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm no expert by any means, but i'd recommend the AT Pro. Great machine for inland use and can be used at the beach. Its waterproof to 10' and well, just love it. Plus, it holds its value if you lose intetest in the hobby. It goes in the $599 range but you can find good deals with the sponsored vendors here. Everyone has their own preference, this is just mine

pwcguy

May 20, 2010
Va
Detector(s) used
E-Trac (retired)
CTX3030, Double Eagle
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You could all so consider a higher end used machine. You can get a used E-trac in the $800 - $900 range.

All most any machine you get for $500 will out perform the tracker IV.

scotty544

Mar 11, 2013
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 XP Deus Whites V3i
Tesoro Silver Saber
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
As far as a mid priced detector look at the Tesero Tejon, its supposed to be a really deep machine with easy to use controls. I bought a Whites V3i and love it, but my old Tesero Silver Saber was from the late 80's and still works to this day. I found a lot of coinage with that old son of a gun! the Tejon is around $700 where as the V3i is $1400.

OP
OP
Decdad

Decdad

Mar 18, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am thinking of getting the ace 350 if I want to be good. Tempted to go to the at pro but that's a jump.

CoinandRelicMan

Silver Member
Apr 3, 2011
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac, Safari, Cortes, Musketeer, Makro Pin-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You've gotten your feet wet a bit time to go for a swim I would think. I would recommend an X-Terra 705 and be ready to get one of the double d type coils but wait I see a dual coil pack deal. I see the X-Terra 2 coil dual pack metal detector for like 887 with a Lesche hand digger and a Garret pro-pointer.

Mzjavert