Upstate NY Info

MightyMouse82

Jul 10, 2007
Manheim, PA
Detector(s) used
DFX
Greetings,

My father and I own quite a bit of forested acreage outside of Marathon (north of Binghamton) we use primarily for hunting. I'm new to the hobby and am anxious to detect as there are what appear to be a few very old foundations on the land. Can anyone point me in the right direction in terms of where to get started on research of the property, settlement or native american presence, etc.? I'm from PA so I don't know much about the surrounding area.

Thanks,

Chris

Silver Fox

Dec 8, 2007
New York City, USA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Land Star
MightyMouse82 said:
Greetings,

My father and I own quite a bit of forested acreage outside of Marathon (north of Binghamton) we use primarily for hunting. I'm new to the hobby and am anxious to detect as there are what appear to be a few very old foundations on the land. Can anyone point me in the right direction in terms of where to get started on research of the property, settlement or native american presence, etc.? I'm from PA so I don't know much about the surrounding area.

Thanks,

Chris
There are many sources you can research such as at the Hall of Public Records, what they call Platt maps, the public library for the area's history, neighbors particularly old people, historical organizations, even real estate businesses.

Silver Fox

T

TreasurdiggrNY

Chris,
Welcome to the forum. You can google the town names and get some quick history on the web. Some of the current town names may have been changed from what they were. Marathon N.Y. the town, is within the bounds of the Central NY Military Tract, 2 million acres set aside to compensate returning revolutionary war soldiers. Your town Marathon had it's first settlers in 1794. Some nice history there, good luck on the research and the finds!
Glenn

OP
OP
MightyMouse82

MightyMouse82

Jul 10, 2007
Manheim, PA
Detector(s) used
DFX