Using Army Shovels for digging?

mdmike

Nov 4, 2004
Was just curious as to the use of army shovels for metal detecting digging. i guess im cheap so ive been using army shovels for the last 30 years. Granted, ive gone thru a lot of US shovels as well as one 1960s German shovel. I can see why they have lots of neat shovels out there; hopefully they are way more durable! Luckly ive always had a spare or back up shovel in case the one i was using broke. Hate to say it, but they really are kind of crappy, and the German shovel was the best, but it finally crapped out too. The wooden handled ones would usually break at the handle first. Then usually they crack near the bracket on the spade.

The current issue US shovel is really junk. NOW!, why don't they ask us how to design a shovel and also use us for testing! Here's a picture of the current shovel, or more recent all metal shovel. The first thing that broke were the rivets on the folding points. That was way early on; like god for bid you needed to use it. Then the handle broke a couple years ago ... i didnt have a spare, so i modified it like crazy to beef it up. Two things im not happy with... the shovel is too stiff and kills your hands, so i added a rubber hose over the handle to take shock. Secondly, the spade is too pointy. the German shovel was much better for root chopping; less point and thinner material. This point just seems to just bounce off and not cut thru. Not sure what going to break next, but time will tell.

Attachments

• shovel.jpg
    shovel.jpg
    151.9 KB · Views: 40

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My Ames entrenching tool is dated 1942 and has held up to more than 30 years of relic hunting use. the thing in your pic looks like an off shore knock off. View attachment 2019144