Uwharrie gold mines. Need help finding closest parking to any old mines. Thank you

crazykid

Aug 5, 2012
Asheboro NC
Detector(s) used
Falcon MD 20, Bazooka Gold Trap, Fisher gold bug pro.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Upvote 0

BurntBear

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2014
N.E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Shovels....lots of shovels!
Primary Interest:
Other
OP
OP
C

crazykid

Aug 5, 2012
Asheboro NC
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm not personally familiar with particular gold mines of that area. The Uwharrie is a vast area and just about anywhere you dig around there is going to be heavily regulated as North Carolina has clamped down hard. Here are the general guidelines:

National Forests in North Carolina - Resource Management

Here is a map of gold mines. You can zoom to your particular area. There are a lot of gold deposits down there.

http://www.mylandmatters.org/Maps/USGold/GetMap

Thanks for the reply. So far I've only found a lot of blacksand but I'm still new to prospecting. Appreciate the reply.

BurntBear

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2014
N.E. Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Shovels....lots of shovels!
Primary Interest:
Other
Yes, the black sands are abundant down that way. Any exposed bedrock in the stream you're working?

Oakview2

Silver Member
Feb 4, 2012
Prather CA
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT
Primary Interest:
Other
Find a local club to join, they will point you to good spots to dig, and help you get ready to strike out on your own.

enamel7

Gold Member
Apr 16, 2005
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can find gold in any of the creeks in Uwharrie. Don't need to be near gold mines. How close are you to the forest?

OP
OP
C

crazykid

Aug 5, 2012
Asheboro NC
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
You can find gold in any of the creeks in Uwharrie. Don't need to be near gold mines. How close are you to the forest?