Tampa, Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro -
Garrett Pro Pinpointer AT -
TEKNETICS EUROTEK PRO -
Garrett Pro Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks I am very new to Google Earth, fact just installed it this past week LOL.. So this was very helpful :)

Dtektor

Jan 3, 2012
Eastern NC
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero w/ 9x8 & 5.75 coils
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
DiggItUp, Thanks for the video. I have been using this technique for some time now and I have a technical question you may be able to answer. I often make smaller "snips" of large old maps to reduce the amount of area covered. Often (most of the time actually) I have a problem with the image size and the Google Earth magnification being very different which makes it necesary for me to squish and squeeze the snipped image into the correct size/location. Is there an easier way to get the Google Earth satellite image and the image overlay file to be better matched?

OP
OP
DiggItUp

DiggItUp

Mar 9, 2013
DiggItUp, Thanks for the video. I have been using this technique for some time now and I have a technical question you may be able to answer. I often make smaller "snips" of large old maps to reduce the amount of area covered. Often (most of the time actually) I have a problem with the image size and the Google Earth magnification being very different which makes it necesary for me to squish and squeeze the snipped image into the correct size/location. Is there an easier way to get the Google Earth satellite image and the image overlay file to be better matched?

Unfortunately, there is no "easy" or "automatic" way to do this. You have to tweak around with it until you're satisfied it's accurate enough to use. On the plus side, not many people do this because they don't know how exactly or aren't skilled enough. People like us, however take advantage of this and find places that have never been hunted. Winter's the perfect time for it too.

CWnut

May 9, 2003
E. Tennessee