Prospector70

Nov 6, 2013
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Gold Trap 48", Keene A51 sluices and a
Number 2 Shovel baby!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Team!
This is my first year sluicing, I've got the fever pretty bad! :) The last two weeks I have gotten as much gold as I have collected all year (practice makes perfect right?)

My equipment:
Keene A51 sluice with the standard carpet matting setup
Blue Bowl
Christmas list: Header box, hand dredge :)

I'm setting up to run my cons from yesterday and that brought up a question:
How long do you usually take to run down your cons from sluicing to gold in the bottle?
Do you keep it wet or dry?
How is the best way to turn a wet bottle of gold into a dry bottle of gold? (I'm curious to see where I am at weight wise)
I've got three vials, The year so far, last weekend and yesterday. I'll post some pics later if you are interested.

Thanks for the read, and I look forward to your advice!
Happy Hunting!

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
To dry or not to dry that is the Wet Question

Prospector 70,
I'm usually out in the hot summers of NorCal so by the time I have my gold out for a few minutes in the hot air the water is gone. I suspect this is the best way to get it dry, mild warmth from some heat source say a 100 to150 watt light bulb either over the spread out gold or under a metal pan of gold. Spilling the gold from the pan is a safety concern as there is nothing like spilling your gold to ruin an otherwise nice day!

Pictures of your gold would be appreciated by All so bring um on!!...................................63bkpkr

Oh, excuse my lack of Etiquette, Welcome to Tnet :hello:

182_8221.JPG

Last edited:

goldenIrishman

Silver Member
Feb 28, 2013
Golden Valley Arid-Zona
Detector(s) used
Fisher / Gold Bug AND the MK-VII eyeballs
Primary Interest:
Other