wells, beware!

flyinguy

Apr 27, 2008
central new york
Detector(s) used
2 compass coin pros
more than several times i/we have searched old sites and found an open well. screech! brakes. folks left, died, whatever and left open wells. i'm no doctor (paramedic, yes) but that has got to hurt or worse. when you are in your own little t.h. world you don't always look for perils. i don't. if you go down and live it could be a b..... to get out. hope you have a buddy or are really good at rock climbing. i was t.h.ing at a drained resevoir and had to climb the side of the dam to acsess the old swim hole. sixth trip and i got nosey. i almost walked into a 150' shaft to the dam(damn) bottom! new shorts. it had a ladder but, 150'! poor detector. it was wide open times 3'. be careful friends.

WV Hillbilly

Dec 8, 2006
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
TIME RANGER CZ3D ACE 250
Yup , I have found many old dug wells around old house sites . A lot of them are also uncovered .
Pays to pay attention where you're stepping . I climbed to the bottom of a dry dug well once & didn't
have any problem climbing back out . It was walled with rock . Wouldn't want to fall in one though .

Zincoln Miner

Nov 14, 2003
New York State
Detector(s) used
Minelab Vanquish 340, Tesoro Silver uMax, Compadre, and BH Tracker IV.

Ex: White's Spectrum XLT, Tesoro Cutlass II Umax, and that circa late 70's red handled junk from RadioShack that started it.
watch out for mine shafts too :o

Attachments

• mine.JPG
    mine.JPG
    40.5 KB · Views: 267

boogeyman

Gold Member
Jun 6, 2006
Out in the hills near wherendaheckarwe
Detector(s) used
WHITES, MINELAB, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting