What detector for Asian terrain and how deep?

Faraz

Greenie
Jan 27, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi,

I am brand new to metal detecting and I am about to buy my first detector. I have been doing online research for over 2 months but I still have a few unanswered questions which I am hoping you guys on here can answer.

I am about to travel to Asia in 2 months (India and Pakistan) both countries. I will have access to areas which are completely untouched and are said to have hidden buried treasure caches such as old coins from Mughal era.

1- My question here to you guys is that which detector would be best for Asian terrain. India and Pakistan?

2 - And if I am trying to hit some old coins buried together at a depth of 2 to 3 feet in a container or in a clay pot, will these regular metal detectors such as Garrett AT pro, Minelab e-trac or Fisher F75 be able to find that kind of cache or hoard???

3 - Or will I have to buy a pulse induction detector?

Thank you
Any help with answers appreciated...

CincinnatiKid

Bronze Member
Nov 5, 2013
Cincinnati Ohio
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello and welcome Faraz.
Before any questions can be answered, I must ask two...
1. How are you traveling? If by air, have you checked with airline ✈ concerning transportation of metal detectors?
2. Do you have knowledge of sites/countries to be detected and the laws therein?
Peace ✌

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
India is a BIG place. Mountains, beaches and everything in between.

india-map-of-soils.jpg