What do folks mean when they say that the ATP=No AM mode?

treadhead

Jul 8, 2013
Salem, OR
Detector(s) used
Ace 150, AT Pro, Garrett Pro Pointer, Vibra-Probe 580 and 730.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey folks, just something that I keep seeing in various threads that (In My "NEWBNESS"[:tongue3:] to this hobby) I
don't quite understand yet.

If I'm running My ATP on "PRO" "ZERO" (With nothing discriminated out say).....how is that different from a "true"
ALL-METAL setting? I'm still learning so...anyone care to buy me a vowel? I only mention it because I see that THAT
(Not having a real AM mode) listed as a bad thing in some threads.

Thanks in advance for giving me a clue 8-)

marh415

Apr 30, 2013
Rhode Island
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett ACE 350, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
From what I read, even though the Pro is set to zero, it's still not a true all metal mode. The AT Gold has a true all metal mode if I remember correctly.

CoinHunterAZ

Feb 18, 2013
Flagstaff, AZ
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sidewinder Umax, Garrett ATPro, Minelab Equinox 800, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
When running pro zero, set at zero, you will know if it iron. Grumbly, growly sounds. All other metals will be mostly clear signals, high or low sounding. Also you can use your iron audio. I only switch it on if I have a questionable target, but usually end up digging it anyway if it is a repeatable signal. I keep finding old pocket knives, traps, & other relics this way. I run my atp with settings at pro zero, iron disc at 30, auto ground balance minus 3-5 points manually. I think every atp machine is just a tad different, so you will have to experiment to see what works best for you. Once again, experience is the best way to learn it.

knightsquad

Apr 5, 2013
East Coast, Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Soverign
Tesoro, Vaquero
Garrett At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Tread,