What is protocol when asking landowners permission to metal detect?

Mar 2, 2014
Hello fellow detectorists! I'm new to metal detecting, just purchased my ATpro month ago. I just joined the forum today. There are several sites that I have been scoping out while the weather is bad. My question is what is protocol when asking someone to detect on their land? Do you share half? Or do just don't mention it at all unless they ask? How do others on this forum handle this?
So excited to get and find some treasures!

Upvote 0

Silver Simon

Mar 17, 2013
Coldwater Michigan
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello fellow detectorists! I'm new to metal detecting, just purchased my ATpro month ago. I just joined the forum today. There are several sites that I have been scoping out while the weather is bad. My question is what is protocol when asking someone to detect on their land? Do you share half? Or do just don't mention it at all unless they ask? How do others on this forum handle this?
So excited to get and find some treasures!

I would not volunteer any deals at first, but if it is a location you are really interested in, and you get the vibe the owner is leaning towards a "no", sweeten the pot by offering to split the finds. You may run into people that will give you permission without any stipulation, but then become more interested in what you are getting from their yard, and possibly even demand that everything be given to them. One thing to remember, it is their property, and if they change their mind, the best thing you can do is comply and move on. Here is a nice document on gaining permission.

Gaining Permission

Produce Guy

Bronze Member
Dec 17, 2008
austin,texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250,garrett pro-pointer,AT/Pro,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting