What type of detector

SERT_1998

Aug 31, 2010
I used a pinpointer for the first time the other day and loved it. I need one that will pinpointer that will do its job without having to actually touching the item. It needs to be water resistant as well for beach combing and inclement weather. I looked at a kellyco Auto max Precision V.4, it appears to fit the bill and it is 89.00 dollars. What do you think. I am also new to the metal detecting business as well. Thanks in advance.

mainer

Silver Member
May 3, 2005
Maine
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Fisher F75 SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The auto max V4 has a ton of people that hate it. If you go to the tool shed forum you will see a whole thread on it. Im not sure about finding a water proof one. Maybe some others will chime in. I think if I were you Id stay away from the V4. JMO. :thumbsup:

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you've been reading recent posts, you may have seen the recent STRONG opinions on the Garrett pinpointer, both for and against. I know it is a good machine. I own a Vibra-probe (w'proof, PI). I use it so much I no longer can read the model number 570 or 580, I believe. Both are good. I cannot comment on the one you are considering as, unlike a few recent opinions on items never tried, I don't want to embarrass myself. Check out the vendors that support T-net, check out the posts, then decide. (I would've made a GREAT politician.... all these words and I said nothing at all). TTC

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
The Sun-ray in-line probes are the most superior.