What waders to get for shallow water

rainyday101

Dec 1, 2012
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Silver uMax, Tesoro Tiger Shark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Will be going into cold freshwater right after ice out. I am interested in waders and would be using a chest belt and manual inflate life vest. I don't want a wet suit because of price and don't want to freeze my butt of changing into and out of it while standing in the open out in the cold.

My question is do I get neoprene waders or non neoprene waders? Stocking foot or the kind with the boot on? Can you layer with clothes under the waders to stay warm? As you can tell I'm a newbie at water hunting. Any help would be appreciated!

Upvote 0

Jdett411

Jan 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I got chest high neo waders with the boot type. Ive been out in the water along with the ice and completely warm. I just wear a pair of normal long John pants under them.

OP
OP
rainyday101

rainyday101

Dec 1, 2012
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Silver uMax, Tesoro Tiger Shark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Jdett411, what thickness are your waders? 3mm or 5mm?

Jdett411

Jan 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I believe they're 5mm. They're so warm now even while around ice that im thinking maybe i shouldve gone with 3mm cause spring/summer they might be too warm. You definite want the boot type. I would think the stocking type would hurt your feet from pushing on the scoop for hours.

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used
Nokta FoRs Gold, a Gold Cube, 2 Keene Sluices and Lord only knows how many pans....not to mention a load of other gear my wife still doesn't know about!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Being one of those fools that goes Steelhead fishing in the dead of Winter, I've
spent a lot of time in insulated chest waders in 20º weather. Tried a lot ways