where do i start?

Matt.L

Apr 22, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all! So i have been debating doing this for a few years but i have decided to pull the trigger I'm looking to get the best for my buck on a Gold Detector
my budget is 300$.

Apart From that have most people been able to at the most make back there money that they have spent purchasing the detector?
And what is the honest answer to finding small gold nuggets etc thanks appreciate it.

Upvote 0

Peyton Manning

Gold Member
Dec 19, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT-PRO
Sandshark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
hmmm, what to say?

if you don't like the search, you won't like the results
you will never make money at detecting
do it for the fun, the hunt, the being outside in nature

I have found things of value, but have sold nothing and have no intentions of doing so
I am in it for the fun

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
Are gold nuggets common where you intend to hunt?
$300 kinda light for a dedicated/ better known for nugget detection detector.
Use a sample nugget( while realising wild nuggets may not respond the same) and run some tests on the detector you are considering.

Research those hunters who have detected nuggets. Gold can be tricky ,even if in range of a detector.

Your learning the detector,the sites you research ,gain permission on ,will factor in what return on investment happens.
More ...the time you put in to it will matter too.

Expecting to pay off a detector with your finds is a risk. Like many things are when they are performance based , ( yours as well as the equipment) .
Having to ,or expecting to make a detector pay for itself, risks taking the fun out of it.
Some people have. Most of them earned it by putting in the hours , and hunting the right places consistently and correctly.

LawrencetheMDer

Feb 22, 2014
Ohio and Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used