Which one???

K

kestrel0222

Hi,

I am new to this forum and to metal detecting. I have never used a metal detector before but I am doing a lot of research in regards to the many different brands and trying to decide which one might be best for me, a beginner. I have a budget to hold to, that would be $250 - $300 max. I have found (3) detectors that fall into that price range. They are:

Garrett Ace 250
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II
Fisher 1225-X

I would be using this detector on both fresh water beaches (dry sand) and public park areas. My interests are manly in coins and maybe jewelry.

I would like to know if any of these will fill that roll, if so, which would you recommend?

I am leaning toward the Garrett Ace 250 only because I have read so many good things about that particular piece of equipment. I have not found too much written about the other (2) detectors. Any information that you could give me would be a great help.

Thanks

Farmercal

Mar 20, 2003
Earth
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, X-Terra 70 & Excalibur 1000
Most folks are going tell you to go for the Ace 250. The 1225X is kind of old technology and I know nothing about the BH you listed. I have heard a lot of good things about the ACE 250 and Garrett is a good name for detectors.

ramjet2187

Nov 29, 2005
North Central Tennessee
Detector(s) used
MXT
Ditto. I'd say get the 250............should be able to get it for around $212.00..........I did, from Ron's Detectors, in Shelbyville, TN..........(shamless plug ;) ;) )

He's at ronsdetectors.com..........(don't know, can I put that here???)

Roger

Mods, remove, if I've erred in putting that info here.............

S

SouthCarolinaTeacher

Why not a Prizm from White's?