White Mountains NF, .... scored big.

67miata

Greenie
Sep 25, 2012
New Hampshire
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I headed back to tunnel brook again today and scored big. Well for me anyway. I actually did find gold, ... a first. One piece could actually be picked up with tweezers:hello2:, the other two took magnifying to grab. But what the heck, there is actually some gold in that river. I found it odd though that the larger of the pieces I found was quite near the top of 2+/- feet of digging I did along a nice piece of ledge I found. I also found it quite early in my quest, that of course kept me going for several more hours where I really did not find anything additional. I keep thinking my panning tecnique is bad (I am new at this), but I took that little piece and tossed it back in the pan (with a safety pan below) to see if I would loose it, ...I never did. I thought I had the perfect spot and was digging along ledge until I found the holes bottom and scooped along it.

Oh well, it was an awsome day up there and the water temp was just shy of the point of being uncomfortable. That is likely it for me for the season. I could not possibly get back to it until next month and it looks like we are in for a bit of rough weather (river reset). Temps will be headed down pretty quick from here, it is already reaching the 30's at night. It was good to actually find something, ..... however small.

Brian

Upvote 0

brw0525

Tenderfoot
Oct 25, 2012
New Hampshire
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice find Brian! I just got into panning couple of weeks ago. Been panning the contoocook River. Looking to get up to WM sometime and try the wild am. For now staying local. Hopefully I found something tonight. Still trying to identify it though. It was flat, gold color and bendable, so it's looking good so far.

Lanny in AB

Gold Member
Apr 2, 2003
Alberta
Detector(s) used