Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was thinking about a question posed below in the message boards. So after coming to grips with my raison d'etre, I think I can say a word or two as the new kid on the block here at TreasureNet. Feel free to respond with your ideas or comments!

I've been detecting since I was 12 years old. I had visited a house of one of those old "veterans" who had already been metal detecting for 30 years. I was in awe such items existed, and that there were coins underfoot wherever I walked. Originally I was into the hobby because it was different and interesting. It wasn't so much about finding the old stuff as much as just finding items (at that age, everything is cool!) Since then, I have realized that my reasons for being a detectorist have changed. I'll try to sum them up, in no particular order:

For me, it's about the prospect of one of those rare thrills; the intoxication of a great find. It's about the unusual items that seem to breed and multiply underground. Metal detecting is like Christmas morning every time--and you never know what you'll get (the greatest gift you ever wanted or just another pair of underwear [a.k.a. "pulltab"]). The people (this includes all the priceless friends I've met along the way all the way up to the sacred "digging buddy" and I'll also include the wierd, quirky, scary, deranged people that I've met that live on only in memory and provide me with interesting stories to tell!