Ben Cartwright SASS

Bronze Member
Aug 7, 2012
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett
Primary Interest:
Other
I just opened an account at my local TD bank, mainly to use their coin counting machine, it has no daily limit on how much you can dump there.
At the same time I asked them if they had any CWR and they said "No, it all goes into the coin machine"

I instantly realized that that is why silver and wheaties and Indians keep showing up in bank boxes. At least at TD bank they tell the customers to dump the coins in the machine, silver and all, even if they are wrapped. So granny coming in with her Barber Dimes is going to dump them in the machine and off to Loomis it goes, and eventually comes back!

Upvote 0

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not necessarily true. These machines mostly spit out the silver, and have led to some of my best finds (dimes, quarters, foreign silver). I have probably pulled close to 2oz of silver from the reject trays in my less than 2 months of actively searching. I think the banks that do not have these machines and send out their coins are the ones that recirculate the silver. But yes, grandma is likely the reason us new age silver hunters are finding coins in our rolls to this day.

PhattyB

Apr 3, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All this time, I thought Brinks, Garda and Loomis were buying them off eBay to put in rolls so that they had more business due to us CRHers upping the volume.

namster

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2011
Sulphur, NV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting