Wohoooo!!! Struck GOLD today, the most unexpected way....

Paul4x4

Dec 31, 2007
Finland
Detector(s) used
E-Trac/Pro-Pointer/Ace 250
Ok, so this isn't a detecting find, but it kinda required lotsa work and "digging" to achieve...

I was at work today, and I install ventilation duct systems for a living. Well, we are currently modernisating a congregation house built in the 60's, and today we were tearing down some old ventilation ducts with my work buddy. We had some hard time removing one piece that went through a wall, and after an hour and half worth of sweat, cuts & bruises and hard work, we managed to jerk the piece loose, and threw it out a window.

After that we took a break, and both of us just stand there exhausted. That's when my trained metal detectorist's hawk eyes spotted something shiny in the dirt on the floor. "A coin, a silver 1 markka coin" I said to my buddy and picked it up. "Oh, bummer, just a regular markka" I said after I saw the year 1984 on it. "But hey, there's another one, 10 marks from 1994!" And then I noticed something else in the corner of the room... "What the...It's a huge gold ring!!!" At that point my buddy was like :o , and I was like :o :o :o :o :o :o

A closer look on the ring revealed it being 18K men's wedding band, and there are signs of resizing in it. And that's just one huge ring, sadly I don't have a scale yet, so hard to say anything about the weight.

My buddy got some what excited of my finds, so he decided to crawl into that trash filled duct to see if there's more goodies, and he came back with a few toy cars and two markka coins. The duct is so long that he did go only half way into it, and thought of squeezing in there again tomorrow...

Ok, enough writing, here comes pictures for your pleasure :D