2020 Looking for suggestions for Metal Detectors for GA

Props Master

Apr 30, 2020
Decatur, GA
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello everyone. I'm new here. Ive been building my own gear now for about 3 years. I'm now wanting to go away from the water and do some detecting. I live in Atlanta GA. not far from Dahlonega. The soil here ranges from brown dirt to red clay. The types of gold here will be small (very small) and more then likely shallow on bedrock and rocky areas.
Looking for detectors between $700-$1000 range
From my research I'm looking at

MINELAB EQUINOX 800 SERIES, 11" coil, wireless headset, waterproof, 5k-40k =$900 +add pro pointer-35 = +$110 total $1000
MAKRO GOLD KRUZER METAL DETECTOR, with 10" & 7.5 coils, wireless Headset, waterproof, (61kHz 0nly) =$640 (pin pointer?$)

If any one could help with input in these choices or recommendations of others I’m missing I would greatly appreciate it. My head is overwhelmed with the small details since all the reviews online seem to love each one of these.

Thanks in advance!

Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Coinboy

Dec 4, 2019
Iowa
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac, Nokta Makro Simplex, pulsedive, Garrett Ace 200, Nokta pinpointer, Brute Magnetics 888 pound Fishing Magnet
Predatortools
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OP
OP
P

Props Master

Apr 30, 2020
Decatur, GA
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Thanks for responding. I like the 800 bundles also. Do you know the difference between the 800 & 800 IQ? I’ve looked on
One but can’t seem to find a good answer.

Grumpie

Oct 23, 2016
Cedar Park, Texas
Detector(s) used
Nokta fors gold plus, tesoro lobo supertraq, Makro gold racer, Nokta Makro Anfibio
Primary Interest:
Prospecting