Baton Rouge High School

Pimp Lenin

Apr 4, 2006
The Great State of Louisiana
Detector(s) used
P.O.S.
Another post here started to make me think about my old high school, Baton Rouge High, which is located on Government Street. I graduated from there in 1997. The main building on the present campus was built in 1925, and from what I’ve read in the press is in need of some serious upgrades.

I was wondering if anyone has detected on the campus, or thought about it. I suspect there are some goodies there. Thanks goodness the gravesite of the mascot, Butch the Bulldog, is marked!

I haven’t been back to that school since the night of my graduation. I hear it is now in sad shape. :(

roceda

Nov 12, 2007
Louisiana
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello Pimp Linen. I also graduated from Baton Rouge High, class of 1960. Those were the real "happy days". Yes, I'm an old guy and still like to play in the dirt. The school building is indeed in need of some serious renovations. It is really a shame that such a historic building is falling into ruin. I've never hunted the grounds, but I bet I lost some coins around there somewhere. Thanks for stirring up my fond memories of my old school. Ron.

shanegalang

Bronze Member
Oct 31, 2007
Island of Mozambique
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS, X 35 coil, 11" LF coil, Deteknix headphones with WS4 puck, Fiskars steel D-Handle Transplanting Spade
Primary Interest:
Other
I pass by there almost daily and have often thought of detecting it. Maybe early one Sat morning I will get out there. Would I need special permission or do you think its considered public property? There are so many places down town I see that are detector worthy! Some of those areas I would quite frankly be kind of cautious being in due to violence and such. i have a couple of leads on some that would be ok during a week day or what not.

River Rat

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2006
SE Louisiana
🏆 Honorable Mentions: