Information Please

jag1022

Nov 23, 2008
Socorro, NM
Detector(s) used
White's Eagle II sl
I spend some weekends in Roswell and would be interested in going out to MD in the area. I am new to MDing.

OP
OP
ThTx

ThTx

Dec 19, 2006
Combine
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey jag,

I'll be coming in from Dallas If I get to come at all. I know there are a few ghost towns in the area, but don't have a clue about who would own them. Do you have any places in mind?

jag1022

Nov 23, 2008
Socorro, NM
Detector(s) used
White's Eagle II sl
Depends on how far from Artesia you are willing to travel. About an hour from Roswell is the Hondo Valley and Lincoln (home of Billy the Kid) and many older abandoned houses. However, close to Roswell, other than the park, I'm not sure of any good places to go.

OP
OP
ThTx

ThTx

Dec 19, 2006
Combine
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would definitely be willing to travel a couple of hours each way to hunt. If I get to come out, it will be the week of February 16 - 20. If you would be free to go MD'ing then, let me know.

Goose-0

Dec 25, 2006
Central Minnnesota
Detector(s) used
White's DFX & VX3
ThTx, it's too bad that I can't detect with you. My time comes in mid April. I live in Minnesota and have been ghost town hunting in New Mexico for two weeks every yr for 6 yrs now. I only covered the lower 2/3rds of the state due to larger cities (and detectorists) in the northern 1/3rd. I look at old original N M state maps (1928 and newer) to make plans for the next year's detecting.
Anything east of Artesia, to me, was all oil related.....although there might be some old (now gone) cities there, I did not venture that much into the area.