Credit Unions & Coin Star Machines

SilverStrike82

Apr 27, 2009
Fresno, CA
Credit Unions & Coin Star Machines

First- I am new to CRH, thanks to my boyfriend....I spent my Friday off last week hunting all the banks I could find for half boxes. And obviously I got some good tips from tellers....and brushed off. My first 3 boxes I found 40 silvers, most being the 90%s.....so I am hoping to continue my good luck.

I stopped by a Golden One Credit Union (now that I think about it, I don't believe it's a nationwide bank....) anyways- they have the coin star machines in each branch. I buttered up a teller, and asked about getting the coins. I was told that yes I can get the coins at the end of each month OR when the bag is full ($1000- .50c bag). Has anyone had success with either picking up these types of bags from banks, or know if it would be worth it?

I am thinking it is 50/50- I'm either going to get a bunch of skunks thanks to another CRH, or hit the jackpot when someone unknowingly dumps their stash.

Any tips or advice would be great....just a newbe looking for some pointers :)
(I am picking up another 3 boxes today from the same bank I got the 40 silvers from...yay!)

Upvote 0

Scalper

Bronze Member
Jul 18, 2006
Curitiba, Brazil
Re: Credit Unions & Coin Star Machines

Hi, yeah buy the bags they produced the most keepers compared to boxes ... sometimes they are jackpots depending on who has been dumping into them ... a crher vs grandma with her old dusty collection :). Once you become familar with the banks and how long it takes to fill the bags , best of luck and welcome Ed

OP
OP
SilverStrike82

SilverStrike82

Apr 27, 2009
Fresno, CA

Update- so I call the bank to see about picking up their coin machine change....they sent it off to the feds last week...BUMMER!! Another month to wait.

:(

If anyone else has had luck lemme know. I now have a month to wait and debate if it is worth it or not.

BBcardsRI

Bronze Member
May 29, 2008
Rhode Island