Is craigslist Dead?

Indigo Knight

Aug 10, 2017
Southern New England, USA
Primary Interest:
Other
I have been using craigslist to sell my finds for over 10 years.

Over the past few months I've talked with other dealers and hobbyists and the general conclusion is that the platform is not what it used to be. Items that used to sell within a week languish for months or never sell, customers are more flaky than ever, and fraud/spam contacts are also increasing.

I think it's a combination of increased competition from other platforms (Facebook Marketplace, Letgo, OfferUp), mistrust/bad PR for craigslist and a faiure of craigslist to keep the site efficient. However, I think the biggest cause is a stalling of the second-hand economy, if not the economy as a whole. The selling experiences of the locals at the flea market last year coincided with my own, that it was a very odd and inconsistent year for merchandise.

Are your experiences with selling on craigslist similar in your area(s)? Is the platform no longer relevant?

pjdentry

Mar 6, 2017
Missouri
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've done much better on Facebook Marketplace than Craigslist as of late. I do post the same items on both, as sometimes Craigslist does come through, but not often.

artslinger

Jul 19, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Craigslist has been dead in my area for buying and selling. I've had more success on Offerup. The positive that I see on CL is that if you religiously continue to search for scores, and continue to be resilient, the score that everybody has given up on may pop up. I used to do this religiously every day for hours. I stopped because of the lack of potential scores, and the score did come up, and I missed it by half an hour. When I called the seller, he told me that someone was on his way. Knowing the market for the lost score, it was an easy $1,000 profit.

This is definitely due to competition.

Artslinger

lookingharder

Feb 27, 2015
Virginia