Railroad land

qwerksc

Aug 14, 2010
Hey all,
First post, couple of questions.
Prospecting or detecting on railroad property, is this a form of trespassing?
Next, inactive claims, if you are out field sampling, find gold, nobody knows yer there, do you proceed
with filing a claim or do you just keep quiet and return at will?
I've enjoyed all the researching on this site, figured time to sign.
Been huntin' treasure since I was a little kid. never stoppin'
Always was interested in huntin gold. Finally started.
Got a lot of good gold country with permission, some is just close to the RR and it looks inviting.
Anything worth anything is worth workin yer can off for.
Thanks

Upvote 0

Bum Luck

Silver Member
May 24, 2008
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE, GARRETT GTI 2500, Garrett Infinium
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a land surveyor and work with railroad lands a lot.

First, 'railroad land' is usually an easement across the adjoining land owner's property, not ownership.

But, the railroad easement is a very powerful one, almost an exclusive use easement. And that use excludes the casual public through a series of laws, in this state railroad trespass laws that make it a crime to be on the right of way at all. Some companies have their own police with arrest powers bestowed by state statute.

Obviously, it is a potentially dangerous place. Trains now tend to be much faster, are quieter, and take a long time to stop, well after they can see and react to someone on the tracks and an emergency stop is bad for them for a lot of reasons.

Next, as a person that's spent some time along those tracks looking for property irons, there's a lot of junk out there. The rule seems to be that during maintenance activities, old spikes, ties, tie irons, sleepers, beer cans, and an almost endless and amazing variety of junk has been discarded along the right of way making any attempt at detecting miserable, in my experience at least.