Brendan2007

Aug 16, 2013
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Whites Coinmaster GT, Garrett Pro Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting
Hey everybody,

I am fairly new to this hobby. I bought a whites coinmaster gt a few months back, and ive been hunting the local fields/woods around my town. I haven't found anything spectacular, a few clads near my house...the majority of of my finds have been nails! I am discriminating iron&nails but they still show up. What am I doing wrong? Is it the detector settings or the places im searching? I sure would appreciate some input!

Upvote 0

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First welcome to t-net. Have you tried laying some of the iron or nails out on the ground and sweep them and set the machine to discriminate them?. Then maybe sweep some silver,lead and copper or brass and you should be getting close at that point. I want to hear the iron here but only heavy solid pieces.
I am sure some of these guys are experts with that machine. I am not one of them though. Enjoy the site!

bzbadger

Bronze Member
Jun 25, 2013
Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter QD II, Garrett Ace 150 & 350, Fisher ID Excel, Fisher coinstrike, Fisher Cz6, Fisher Gemini II, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett GTI 1500,Teknetiks omega 8000, Nokta Fors Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That machine is decent at discriminating so its a little odd that you can't notch those out. What setting are you hunting in? Buddy of mine uses one and my uncle as well and they both do very well.

Get your facts first, then distort them as you please-Mark Twain

OP
OP
Brendan2007

Brendan2007

Aug 16, 2013
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Cache Hunting
Thank you both for responding.