How to relic hunt and dig less junk?

H

Holly_squirrel

I'm pretty new to all this. I have a garret ace 250. I notice most relics I find bounce from low to high scale and everywhere Inbetween . I understand that is due to iron and rust recording differently.... But sometimes a nail will resister the same way. How do I avoid wasting time digging up nails and not miss a good relic? I'm almost a scared to not dig up a pretty solid hit that bounces on the lower end with a spike or two at the high end.
But my yard is paying tbe price, looks like I got gophers.
And sometimes I get a nice solid hit towards tbe silver end and soon as I turn back a layer of soul, it's gone... that's with me carefully dissecting the dirt... And seeing nothing... The signal just goes dead .

Last edited:

WVPapaw

Feb 22, 2013
Hills of WV
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold, pro pointer, and two dowsing rods.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am a newby to MD, and I have had same problem with my AT Gold. If I dug every hit, owners would never let me come back no matter how much I tried to cover holes and make it look like I did not dig.

robgwv

Feb 17, 2013
west virginia
Detector(s) used
fisher f2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Check out Thread on false signals,I could never explain as well as others, the info helped me a lot

OP
OP
H

Holly_squirrel

robgwv said:
Check out Thread on false signals,I could never explain as well as others, the info helped me a lot

Thank you much

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting