1715 find or junk?

PBBill

Sep 7, 2008
First let me say thank you to everyone that has posted before. I am new to metal detecting and I spent several weeks going back to the old posts and gained a wealth of knowledge. I ended up choosing a Whites prizm 3 just to make sure this is something I want to do. Spent the last several days checking out the beaches on the treasure coast here in Florida. I did scoop this out from a bunch of shells in about a foot of water almost directly in front of one of the 1715 wrecks. It is not magnetic. It is not plyable i.e. not aluminum or tin. it marks under the icon for z1c, bottle cap, or gold ring. Anyhow mostly wanted to say thanks to all the members for the wealth of info on this site. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Bill

Attachments

• IMG_1099.jpg
    IMG_1099.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 910
  • IMG_1100.jpg
    IMG_1100.jpg
    116.7 KB · Views: 910
Upvote 0

time4me

Bronze Member
Aug 30, 2005
Detector(s) used
E-Trac, Explorer II, Excalibur
Can't help with your find, but let me be the first to welcome you here to Treasurenet!!!! I look forward to seeing you find lots of treasure going forward.

Jim

FloridaBill

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2008
Punta Gorda, Florida
Detector(s) used
Compass & Beachunter 300, Garrett Seahunter Excalibur ll
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes I agree and silver would have been black by now. I am not sure if you are aware of it but you don't want to be caught in the water there..........

I did scoop this out from a bunch of shells in about a foot of water

Narthoniel

Bronze Member
Jul 1, 2008
Virginia Beach
Detector(s) used
Excal 2 and E Trac
No idea on the mystery object, sorry.