1900 Penny

whiteoverblue

Jul 14, 2007
Hello, folks. I am new to the hobby, but I found this 1900 penny today. Does anyone know the history/significance of this one? Is it valuable? So far I have only spit on it and wiped it off and put it in water and wiped it off. Is there a better way to clean it?
Jeff

Attachments

• 1900penny.JPG
    1900penny.JPG
    26.8 KB · Views: 2,850
Upvote 0

Jack(IN)

Bronze Member
Jan 20, 2007
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer XS-2, Garrett Ace 250
Hey Jeff, just a common Indian Head penny, probably around 3-4 bucks. I love finding Indians myself and hope you find many more, maybe the next one will be the elusive 1877!! Good Luck!!

morgandollar

Greenie
Jun 17, 2007
S.W. Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500 Bounty Hunter Land Star
1900 Indian head cent, worth between 2 and 3 dollars in this condition. These coins were minted from 1859 to 1909 when they were replaced by the Lincoln cent. Nice find.

Stormtrooper154

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2006
Portland, OR
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE
Welcome to T-net!  That is a nice find!  It's value come from finding the coin and knowing that you found something that more then likely hasn't been handled in a long, long time. I think $3-4 dollars is a little high for a dug coin in G-4 Condition, but we can stick with that if you like.

Happy Hunting

Stormtrooper154

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2006
Portland, OR
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE
whiteoverblue said:
Thanks, guys. I'm happy that I found something on my first day out.
Jeff

That is a great find for your first day out!!!! Just to give you an idea of it.....I have been swinging for about 9 months now and I have only found 5 of them. So 1 in your first day is awesome!!!

TeddyB1967

Feb 23, 2007
Pennsylvania
whiteoverblue said:
Is there a better way to clean it?