a little confused on what detector to start with

visitor21

Greenie
Nov 1, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello!

Thanks everyone for having a really cool forum that is very helpful to a beginner!

I really want to go and hunt silver coins. I plan on looking in parks that will have a lot of trash. Can anyone recommend a good detector for me?

I thought I had read somewhere that some detectors have a display that will show you whether or not you are likely to be over a coin or not. Is that correct?

What would you guys recommend for me to buy?

Thank you!

:icon_thumright:

Upvote 0

DirtTGuy

Aug 16, 2015
Maine
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend
Garrett Apex
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello visitor21 I have been detecting for a couple years now. I started with a fisher F2 has a very good display on it.
It is an entry level detector but works very well. Has a nice large display that gives you a numeric read out as to what it is you
may be over. The higher the number the better the find, unless it is a bottle cap or big iron. Most detectors will show you if you
may be over a coin but it is no guarantee. Good luck to you hope this helps a little.

Kuntzy

Jul 24, 2015
North Vernon IN
Detector(s) used
tesoro vaquero
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I use tesoro detectors, but any good brand will work.

Note on displays!! Never Ever fully trust a display. you will miss finds with it. learn to hunt by sound, the hum of your threshold, and you will have a leg up on others

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
See if you can borrow or rent one. The thought of going to the park and finding silver coins has been around since the 60's and the parks have been hit already...many many times. That doesn't mean you can't get lucky and find a silver!

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions: