A question about salt water machines.

Scottyboy

May 15, 2012
Northwest Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Spectra V3I, Whites Prizm III, Tesoro Sand Shark, Fisher 1280-x, Fisher CZ-21
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello all, I'm relatively new to this hobby, and I've been having a lot of fun learning and using my whites v3i.
The V3i performs wonderfully in the dry sand but it goes bonkers when I get in the wet sand/ shallow water.

So, I've decided to go ahead and purchase a dedicated water machine (either PI or BBS).

I do intend on going into waist/chest deep water so something like a sovereign or TDI is out of the question.

So, getting to my question, I've decided I'm either going with an Excal II or going with a Whites PI DF (and using what I save to maybe pickup a sand shark as a backup/loaner).... but I cant decided which. I live in Pensacola FL and Intend on using the detector in the water between Gulf Shores AL, and Panama City Beach. Our beaches are sugary white here and not very trash-filled. That being said, in this environment, would I see a great benefit in the Excal over the DF.

Should I go with the PI DF and use what I save to buy a backup sand shark, or should I put all my eggs in one basket and get the Minelab?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

Upvote 0

bigscoop

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2010
Wherever there be treasure!
Detector(s) used
Older blue Excal with full mods, Equinox 800.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting