Airline travel with metal detector

FLauthor

Aug 22, 2004
Minneola, FL
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 800; Fisher F5; White Beachmaster VLF
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
??? I'm planning a trip to Alaska in July 2008 and plan on taking my Minelab XT18000 and don't really trust the luggage handlers. Should I separate the coil from the control box making it useless and leave the batteries in the luggage. Last time I took a metal detector was before 9-11 and I was able to take it as carry on. My last trip to Alaska, the TSA agent was so paranoid about my external camcorder battery that she was going to confiscate it until a Manager deemed it safe.
I work in the Security field and made reports out on personal items that were packed in luggage and disappeared somewhere between the airport and the resort. Can't lock the luggage as it has to be inspected. Or should I call TSA? I don't want my detector getting pulled because a inexperienced baggage scanner see's a box full of wires. :o What do you do when you travel? Thanks! :)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
FLauthor

FLauthor

Aug 22, 2004
Minneola, FL
Detector(s) used
Excalibur 800; Fisher F5; White Beachmaster VLF
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Yes, it can be broken down and placed in a detector bag. Just have to be sure I store the batteries and knife and digger in the luggage. It's just the stir the bag causes when you run it through the xray machine but people take their lap tops with them and they have just as much electronics as a detector.
I'll just call TSA and check with them. Thanks. ;D

dbsmokey

Jan 12, 2004
Oregon
Detector(s) used
CZ-21, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
FLauthor said: