Am I getting the best deal for my scrap gold??? Refiners might not be for me.

blai745

May 5, 2010
Detector(s) used
ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi im new to this pretty awsome treasure forum and I just started my own little gold buying operation for a couple months now and use mostly craigslist for advertising.. So I hear alot of people talking about selling there gold to refiners and usually get 98%-95% of spot.. of course many knowledgeable people also say that all gold is a half Karat less ( Example 14k is 13.5k .5625).. So when they give it to the rifiners they get 98% of TRUE MELT value....

Now for me I sell all the gold I buy to very good local Gold buyer which pays me 92% of the hallmarking. (Example 92% of 14k .5833) and pays me cash. He also buys from alota jewelers too..great guy. So my question is, which one do you think is more worth it??
Here is allitle analysis. Spot gold is at $1347 and i'll be using 100 grams of 14k as an example with the refinery melting 14k at 13.5k .5625

Refiner- $1347 divided by 31.1= $43.31 then times .5625 = $24.36 times 98% = $23.87 X 100grams = $2387 By CHECK

My gold buyer- $1347 divided by 31.1 = $43.31 times .5833 = $25.26 times 92% = $23.24 X 100grams =$2324 CASH!!!

Ive been dealing with my super trusted gold buyer on probably about 10 transacations now with averaging about 100 grams per transaction and I acid test all my gold. Im pretty positive I did the math correct, sometimes scrap gold buying will rattle your brain allitle lol..

I kinda think a $63 dollar difference is absolutly ok with me without me shipping and waiting, checks etc.. Of course it could be even more or a $10-$100 difference and thats still fine with me.
Thanks for checking this post and also please let me know if thats basically what the refiners pay based on my equation. Here also is a small example of what I bought over the months.

Bill

Attachments

• !B4TKD4wCGk~$(KGrHqYOKkIEyOGqi!CoBMpTpK!E9w~~_12.jpg