Any lawyers around? Suggestions for writing up a formal search request

T

The.Boomer

I have a law degree, but I'm not a lawyer. I work for the Govt. so I can't take private work. But I'll tell you now I really doubt you'll get a lawyer to do this kind of work for free, since it carries a Liability hazard inherent within it. That said, Since you'll no doubt have to pay for the service, using a in state Lawyer would be best as they would be familiar with all the applicable Federal, state, and local municipality laws. And you should never hire a Lawyer willy nilly. Just as you wouldn't wanna pay a mechanic for shoddy work, you'll want a lawyer who you can have a reasonable amount of trust that he'll perform his duties well. :wink:

G.I.B.

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2007
North Central Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / GTI 2500 / Infinium LS / Tesoro Sand Shark / 1 Garrett Pro-pointer / 1 Carrot / Vibra Probe 580 (out on loan) / Lesche M85 / Mark1 MOD1 EyeBall
Primary Interest:
Other
I have to vote on this being a bad idea, and not just because you will have to talk to a lawyer, but for another reason.

People are more likely to say sure, go ahead and play with your metal detector, just don't damage anything, or let the cows out...that sort of stuff.

You thrust a legal document in front of their face and you will almost always be rejected and told no thanks.

deepskyal

Bronze Member
Aug 17, 2007
Natrona Heights, Pa.
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster 6000 Di Series 3, Minelab Eq 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I think you'd end up with too much mumbo-jumbo if a lawyer writes that up...and you'd probably turn off a lot of potential people that would normally let you hunt....except now you want them to sign some formal agreement.

I wouldn't worry about a written agreement unless you're thinking a cache hidden somewhere you'd want to split. Otherwise...It's just nickle and dime stuff.

Al

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.