May 20, 2013
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
White's Spectrum XLT
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I use a Fisher F2 but my aunt said she wants to try metal detecting, so she went out and bought herself a Spectrum XLT. When we go out next month it will be her first time so I need to be ready to show her how to use her machine. I've never used it before, so I came here to find out if it's something with a big learning curve or something that I can pick up on quickly and get her going right away.

Thanks!

christo000

Silver Member
Mar 17, 2013
mass North Attleboro
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus,m-6 pinpointer, technetics t2ltd (had, whites v3i,minelab xterra 705,atpro,prism 4,sunray probe minlabe profind,garret propointer, f75ltd and many more)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I haven't used one I went into whites with a prism 4 to v3i from what I'm hearing for a starting detector let's say I hope she reads the manual its got options many that a newer person to the hobby could get in trouble with & mayb mess up some programs I'd stick with the factory ones it has. The other thing mayb since u have more experience mayb u should b the one with the xlt & her with the f2 it would b less of a curve to u then her being u have an idea on what's what as controls. The xlt mayb older then the f2 but its more advanced

beerguy

Bronze Member
May 6, 2004
Camano Island, WA
Detector(s) used
CTX3030,
Many more on a rotating basis.
Park Ranger and Pack Mule pouches by Freeloader!
I use an XLT. Great machine.

If she is MDing for the first time, have her start out with the coins program. It is a good starting point.

If I were you, I would load coins and make the following changes:

Tone ID on
VCO on
Accept everything from +12 and up in the Discrimination using block edit.
Also, you could raise the AC sensitivity as high as you can while maintaining stability.
Coins program starts it out at 64, sometimes I run it as high as 72.